Organizational Board Meeting November 18, 2019

The organizational meeting of the Maquoketa Valley Board of Education was called to order by Superintendent Tuetken at 6:00 p.m. in the Earlville Elementary Conference Room in Earlville, Iowa. All motions carried unanimously unless otherwise noted. There were five board members were present, six staff members and five visitors were also present.

Supt. Tuetken reported the official results of the Board election that was held on November 5th. Election results reported were as follows: in Director District #1, Donna Kunde received 478 of the 486 votes casted and was duly elected for the office of Maquoketa Valley School Board Director District #1 for a term of four years; in Director District #5, John Zietlow received 476 of the 481 votes casted and was duly elected for the office of Maquoketa Valley School Board Director District #5 for a term of four years. The Board approved the canvas of results.

The first order of business was to elect the officers for the 2019-2020 school year. Supt. Tuetken called for nominations for President of the Board of Directors. Donna Kunde was elected as President and Mike Feldmann was elected as Vice-President.

The meeting agenda was approved.

Ann Grant and some members of the Maquoketa Valley's National FFA Team presented the Board with a brief presentation of their recent experience at the National Convention. The Board along with Supt. Tuetken would like to thank Mrs. Grant for her work with the students in preparation for this convention.

The consent items were approved.

The Board set the monthly meeting date and time for the 2019-2020 year as the third Monday of each month. Meetings will begin at 5:30 p.m.

The Board approved the following district depositories as well as depository limits of \$10,000,000: Heritage Bank, Community Savings Bank, F&M Bank and Citizens State Bank.

The following personnel recommendations were approved:

Jeff Edwards – employed as High School Ag Teacher (upon passing Praxis test)
Macy Anderegg – employed as High School Assistant Coach (upon receiving Coaching Authorization)

Language changes to board policy 711.7 School Bus Safety Instruction and 711.10 School Bus Passenger Restraints were reviewed and approved on the first official reading.

Board Policy Series 800 were rescinded. The board then approved the updated Board Policy Series 800 on the first official reading.

The 2020-2021 SBRC Modified Allowable Growth for Dropout Prevention was approved. The Board approved the maximum allowed by state law.

The 2019-2020 SBRC Application for Increasing Enrollment for \$44,457.60 was approved. This will allow the district to increase spending authority and to levy dollars if needed.

The Board approved the 2019-2020 Voluntary Early Separation of Certified Staff, Voluntary Early Separation of Classified Salaried Staff and the Voluntary Early Separation of Classified Hourly Staff. The Board approved a separation package of \$55,120 for both Certified Staff and Classified Salaried Staff and \$12,000 for Classified Hourly Staff. These funds will be paid out in three equal installments into a Health Reimbursement Arrangement account. The first installment will begin in August of 2020.

Board policy series 900 will be reviewed and approved in December.

Due to the holiday concert, the December board meeting will be begin at 5:00 p.m. in the High School Conference Room on December 16th. The Board will then travel to Ryan for a joint legislative session with the North Linn School Board.

Suggestions for the featured speaker for the 2020 Academic Excellence Banquet were discussed and noted.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:08 p.m.