Regular Board Meeting - November 20, 2023 - 5:30 p.m. High School Library, Delhi, Iowa

The regular meeting of the Maquoketa Valley Board of Education was called to order by President Donna Kunde at 5:30 p.m. on November 20, 2023. All motions carried unanimously unless otherwise noted.

Board Members Present: Feldmann, Kunde, Zietlow

Board Members Absent: Dabroski, Overman

Staff Present: Supt. Dave Hoeger, Tiersa Frasher, Brenda Becker, Jackie Moorman, Erika Vanderloop, Joseph McAreavy and Mike Hucker

Visitors Present: Jesus Rumbo, Allison Hogan, Cadence Freiburger, Jake Gellersen, Alexa Eike, Jennifer Livingston, Mitch Conrad, Christy Hogan, Duane Hogan, Adeline Rudd and Haley Ronnebaum

Motion was made by Zietlow, seconded by Feldmann to approve the meeting agenda as presented. All ayes. Carried.

In a motion by Feldmann, seconded by Zietlow the consent items were approved. All ayes. Carried.

Erika Vanderloop reported the official results of the election that was held on November 7, 2023. Election results reported were as follows: In Director District #2, Donna Kunde received 413 votes and was duly elected for the office of Maquoketa Valley School Board Director District #2 for a term of four years. John Zietlow received 362 votes and was duly elected for the Office of Maquoketa Valley School Board At-Large for the term of four years. Pam Overman received 538 votes and was duly elected for the Office of Maquoketa Valley Board At-Large for the term of two-years. In a motion by Zietlow, seconded by Feldmann the canvas of results was approved. All ayes. Carried.

In a motion by Feldmann, seconded by Zietlow the books from FY23 were examined and settled. All ayes. Carried.

In a motion by Zietlow, seconded by Feldmann the regular meeting was adjourned at 5:33 p.m. All ayes. Carried.

Organizational Board Meeting - November 20, 2023 - 5:30 p.m. - High School Library, Delhi, Iowa

The organizational meeting of the Maquoketa Valley Board of Education was called to order by Superintendent Dave Hoeger at 5:34 p.m. on November 20, 2023. All motions carried unanimously unless otherwise noted.

Board Members Present: Feldmann, Kunde, Zietlow

Board Members Absent: Dabroski, Overman

Staff Present: Supt. Dave Hoeger, Tiersa Frasher, Brenda Becker, Jackie Moorman, Erika Imler, Joseph McAreavy and Mike Hucker

Visitors Present: Jesus Rumbo, Allison Hogan, Cadence Freiburger, Jake Gellersen, Alexa Eike, Jennifer Livingston, Mitch Conrad, Christy Hogan, Duane Hogan, Adeline Rudd and Haley Ronnebaum

Supt. Hoeger called for nominations for the President of Board of Directors. A motion was made by Zietlow, seconded by Feldmann nominating Donna Kunde for President for the 2023-2024 year. Motion was made by Zietlow, seconded by Feldmann that nominations cease. Carried. Vote was recorded as Feldmann, aye: Kunde, aye: Zietlow, aye as Kunde for President. Carried.

President Donna Kunde presided for the balance of the meeting and proceeded by asking for nominations for Vice-President for the 2023-2024 year. A motion by Feldmann, seconded by Kunde nominated John Zietlow as

Vice-President. Motion was made by Feldmann, seconded by Kunde that nominations cease. Carried. Vote was recorded Feldmann, aye; Kunde, aye; Zietlow, aye as John Zietlow for Vice-President. Carried.

A motion by Feldmann, seconded by Zietlow set the monthly meeting date and time for the 2023-2024 board meetings for the third Monday of each month and to begin at 5:30 p.m. All ayes. Carried.

The following personnel recommendations were approved in a motion by Zietlow, seconded by Feldmann:

Kayla Frasher – employed as Paraprofessional

Mark Smith – resignation as Bus Driver

All ayes. Carried.

In a motion Zietlow, seconded by Feldmann he Board approved the vote for Ed Poynor as the Keystone AEA Director District Five Board Member. All ayes. Carried.

In a motion by Feldmann, seconded by Zietlow the Board approved the Spanish Club trip to Spain in the summer of 2025. All ayes. Carried.

The Board approved the Maquoketa Valley Special Education Delivery Plan and the approval letter from the Keystone AEA in a motion by Feldmann, seconded by Zietlow. All ayes. Carried.

Motion was made by Zietlow, seconded by Feldmann to approve the 2023-2024 SBRC Application for Increasing Enrollment, Open Enrollment Out and LEP Instruction Beyond Five Years for \$158,557.52. This will allow the district to increase spending authority. A roll call vote was answered as follows: Feldmann, aye; Kunde, aye; Zietlow, aye. Carried.

In a motion by Feldmann, seconded by Zietlow the 2023-2024 Voluntary Early Separation of Certified Staff/School Nurses. The Board approved a separation package of \$57,000. These funds will be paid out in three equal installments into a Health Reimbursement Arrangement account. The first installment will begin in August of 2024. All ayes. Carried.

In informational and discussion items, Supt. Hoeger and the Board expressed their appreciation to law enforcement, and especially Matt Menard, regarding the incident on November 7, 2023.

Fine Arts will be holding several 50/50 raffles during the winter sports season.

The Board took time to reflect on the 2023 IASB Conference and share several presentations they attended in Des Moines.

Supt. Hoeger updated the Board on the recent changes to the Bus Driver Handbooks. He expressed his appreciation to Brandy Whittenbaugh for her work with this project.

A legislative session will be held on December 20, 2023 beginning at 5:30 p.m. in the high school library. Several area legislators will attend as well as board members from West Delaware and Edgewood-Colesburg.

The January board meeting will be held on January 22, 2024.

The meeting adjourned at 6:31 p.m. in a motion by Feldmann, seconded by Zietlow. All ayes. Carried.